Mayhem! Oh, My!

Mayhem commercials are funny and entertaining. I think that giving Mayhem a twitter is definitely a ploy to get more customers or at least create brand awareness, however if it works isn’t that the same thing as genius? O at least great marketing a public relation tactics? I think that this is a great way to interact with existing customer as well as reach new ones. If a Allstate customer sees a funny tweet by Mayhem, or funny vine or instagram picture and shares or retweets the post they are then allowing all of their friends who do not follow Mayhem to see it as well. Tactics like this are wonderful forms of Public Relations because the company is taking something that is cheap or free and allowing the customers and followers to do the work by getting the word out. I do not have an account with Allstate anymore, but I may follow Mayem just because they are some of my favorite commercials. I definitely think this form of pr with catch on and I predict that Flo from Progressive will be the next persona to appear. As for my client, Best Western, they do not have a mascot or theme so they would have to get creative. I honestly do not see it happening, because they honestly already have a hard time maintaining facebook and twitter for the company; let alone another account for their mascot.  

6 thoughts on “Mayhem! Oh, My!

  1. You make a great point about this whole mayhem character as a cheap/free marketing ploy and the ability of social media that allows people to market for you. After all, public relations is all about getting free media time/space.

  2. Pingback: Week 6? Responses! | PR Perfection

  3. I also think the @Mayhem character joining social media is a great idea. And double great if it brings Allstate more customers. It’s engaging, different and creative. The way organizations market to their audience is changing with the Internet innovation, and it’s about time companies like Allstate catch on and use it towards its advantage. I think this will turn average customers into raving customers because it’s setting Allstate apart, and giving the brand a strong, memorable voice that customers can recognize and converse with online. Great post!

  4. Pingback: Comments Week Six | exPRessions

  5. Pingback: Comments | ginamissini

Leave a comment